Sean\’s Sicily

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cuil – Not So Cool

leave a comment »

I was way excited when I read about the new search engineCuil“. I remember what Google was like “back in the day” when the main search engine I used was Yahoo or Alta-Vista. I switched to Google because it was newer and frankly returned the best results. So I’m always ready to give a new search engine a go, like I said on Techdirt.

Oh well, switched back to Google again – it’s still getting me better results. I might try Cuil again a while, but then again, I don’t have a good history of retrying dissapointing products.

Like someone else said, it looks to me like they’re just gearing up to be sold to someone bigger who needs a ready-built search engine platform.

I do think Cuil is going to shake up the market with it’s ideas around related searches, and the presentation of information. At this time, Google is rather like the Microsoft of searches – not changing anything until someone else does it better. That’s gonna bite ’em in the end, but like MS, they’re not going to get undone by any one single start-up for a long, long time.

Written by seancasaidhe

August 3, 2008 at 12:29 pm

Posted in Internet

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

