Sean\’s Sicily

Just another WordPress.com weblog

AVG 8 Free – Part III

with 5 comments

Continuing the story of my struggles with AVG 8, well I’ve uninstalled it and currently am without anti-virus, but only until I have time to find something decent to replace it.

Oh to recount the problems I had! To start with, I had a bugger of a time getting rid of Link Checker. Disabling it, as reported elsewhere, leaves a really annoying icon in the system tray. I followed the advice to re-install AVG 8 without linkchecker, but had real problems uninstalling it as it wasn’t even able to kill it’s OWN PROCESSES! What a rubbish installer!
OK, so I uninstalled completely, and re-installed without link-checker. The only advantage was the icon didn’t show a problem all the time – otherwise, the thing was equally heavy on system resources as before.

What I noticed immediately was that every time I got an email, Windows locked up for a short but noticable period, which was really annoying. Then, as previously reported, I found that the 3 processes were sucking up over massive amounts of memory, over 100MB. Now I use Lightroom and Photoshop a fair bit and I really don’t want anything else taking up memory unless it has to, because working with photos takes up enough memory as it is!

So goodbye AVG 8, and good riddance. A real pity, ‘cos I’ve been using it for years. They seem to be going down the Norton Anti-Virus route, as someone else has said.

Written by seancasaidhe

May 21, 2008 at 5:16 pm

Posted in Work

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am another long time AVG user annoyed by link-checker. No where in the advanced install did I have the option to disable linkchecker – perhaps I should have told the uninstaller to wipe out all my settings.

    Anyway it appears that Firefox sees Linkchecker as an add-on that can be uninstalled.
    I will see if that works.

    Robert Stonehouse

    May 24, 2008 at 8:49 pm

  2. […] Oh well, switched back to Google again – it’s still getting me better results. I might try Cuil again a while, but then again, I don’t have a good history of retrying dissapointing products. […]

  3. Install without e-mail checker, it’s useless. I guess firewall is useless too and might be harmful.

    After installing, turn off heuristic checking in resident protection. It’s an all new feature for free AVG but it has always been hoggy with any antivirus. This is the deciding difference that made 8 slower than 7 in default setup.

    In this setup AVG8 is the most lightweight antivirus on the market, i believe, much lighter than Avira, and still does its job. My PC is a 2004 Pentium4 with merely 512MB RAM.

    eye

    March 3, 2009 at 4:28 pm

  4. I had problems with AVG when it weent to version 8 also. I ditched it and went to AVAST. They also have a free version which seems to work better than AVG. Might want to give it a try.

    Bruce Hevner

    April 21, 2009 at 3:15 pm


Leave a Reply

